Bucket List: Carry on a Family Tradition.

I’ve recently thought a lot about my life, priorities, goals, the past, my family, etc. etc. etc. So basically, I’ve been contemplating adulthood.

I am one. An adult. It’s official, I’ll stop trying to fight it, I won’t yell at myself for going to bed at 10 PM, and I’ll do my taxes on time every year.

In the midst of all of these thoughts, Thanksgiving happened. And I’ve been running in circles so much taking care of family, that the absolute last thing I wanted to do was drive. I know, it sounds almost wrong. She didn’t want to see her family? Yes I wanted to see them, but I needed a me day. So Thanksgiving this year, I spent the morning on my couch. Watching the parade. The dog show. Drinking hard cider in my bathrobe in the living room. And crossing an item off of my bucket list.

Since the theme of the day is family, I decided to continue a family tradition (something on my bucket list). And the tradition I selected is my grandmother’s Apple Pie. To understand the gravity of this selection, my sister refers to my grandma as “grandma apple pie.” It’s kind of a big deal.

So I did it. I made an apple pie. If you read between the lines there, that means I made 3 batches of crust till I got it right.

Anyhow, here is MY pie recipe. As good as it was, it still isn’t grandma’s. And I’m ok with that. And yes, it’s really basic and fairly vague. But really, it’s apple pie. So long as you get the basic ingredients right, and you’ve made a pie before, this will work for ya. :) And I will just pre-warn you: no, there’s no crust recipe. As previously mentioned, this took 3 shots. I’m trying to perfect before I attempt to show anyone else how to do it! Learn before I teach. So patience, y’all.

Morgan’s Apple Pie Recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 batch pie dough (top and bottom crust needed)
  • 5 granny smith apples (medium/large)
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbs cinnamon
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 egg beaten

Preheat oven to 375. Make and chill your pie crust. While crust is in the fridge, peel and dice your apples.

Put apples, sugar, cinnamon, butter, salt and cornstarch in a pan on the stove on medium heat. Cook down until the sugar/butter begin to caramelize. After some of the apple juice cooks off, cool filling. By cooking the apples down a bit before filling your pie, you will avoid the pool of liquid that often haunts the bottom of the pie pan.

Roll out bottom crust, place in the bottom of your pie plate and add filling. Roll out top crust, being sure to create some sort of hole for steam to escape. (see! Pretty patterns serve a purpose. :) ) Crimp the edges of the pie crust together. Brush the top with the beaten egg. Sprinkle with sugar.

Bake for approximately 1 hour – or until the crust appears done.

Cool for 1 hour before serving!

_MG_7795_MG_7797_MG_7802

Leave a Reply

