Frustration cookies.

Evening lovelies!

I have just returned home from a week at my mom’s house for Christmas. We laughed, we cleaned, we ate too much, we spent the entire time in PJ’s. In my mind that’s the best part about the holidays. If I’m with family, who do I need to impress with my cutest outfit or makeup or heck, real pants? I take the opportunity to wear stretchy workout clothing the entire time I’m there. It was glorious.

Anyhow, it was a great time. I will post more about my trip later, but for now I need to play catch up with a post I’ve had sitting in my queue.

Now I’m sure you noticed the title to this post. Am I frustrated right now? Nope. Not one bit. I’m actually quite happy. And a little giggly. And highly caffeinated. But the day I made these cookies a couple weeks back, I was downright peeved. Anyone who knows me can tell you I rarely get mad. I just don’t do it. I don’t like to, it’s a waste of energy. But that day was one of those rare ones where it just happened. And next thing you know I’ve gone to the gym and had a terrible workout, wasn’t hungry for dinner, and had a mind full of negative energy. It was then that I realized I needed to do something quick to turn my day around. Baking is always the answer for that!

When I saw the recipe for these cookies, I instantly knew it was the one. And why is that? Because I got to stand in my kitchen whacking candycanes with my marble rolling pin for a good 25 minutes. So I whacked. And rolled. and eventually produced some delicious wintery cookies and a much sunnier disposition. Even the most level headed of people needs a stress release once in a while. And this one worked wonderfully.

So if you’re in need of a little emotional lift or have some stress you need to release, give these a shot. They’ll be a perfect use for all those leftover candycanes on your tree.

Candy Cane Crinkle Cookies (From the Slow Roasted Italian)
makes 7 dozen 1 tablespoon cookies

10 candy canes, unwrapped
2 cups granulated sugar
1 cups unsalted butter, room temperature
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
½ teaspoon kosher salt
½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
3 ¼ cups all purpose flour
½ cup powdered sugar

Preheat oven 350°F. Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper.  Set aside.

Double bag 2 resealable 1 gallon plastic bags.  Place candy canes inside and seal.  Crush candy canes with a rolling pin until pieces are smaller than a pea.  Set aside. (Smaller than a pea is not a suggestion. It is necessary!!!)

In the bowl of a stand mixer or an electric mixer combine sugar and butter, cream until light and fluffy, approximately 3-5 minutes.  Add in vanilla extract and eggs.  Mix until combined.  Scrape sides down as needed.  Add salt, powder, soda and flour.  Mix until combined.  Scrape sides of bowl as necessary.   Add crushed candy canes (powder and all).

Pour powdered sugar onto a large plate. Scoop 1 tablespoon portions of dough and roll into a ball.  Roll in powdered sugar until coated.  Place on baking sheet and repeat with remaining dough.  I made 12 per sheet, but you could easily fit 18.

Bake for 9-11 minutes or until bottoms begin to barely brown and cookies look matte. DO NOT OVERBAKE. If you do, they will be hard. Trust me.  Remove from oven and cool cookies about 3 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.  Serve and enjoy!

_MG_7860 _MG_7865 _MG_7895 _MG_7896

Leave a Reply

