Espresso in my cookie? Chocolate in my espresso?

Well, today was another Thursday. And as Thursday is my day off from the gym, it’s only fitting I bake something. With butter. And eat it. More of it than I will fess up to.

Now, I know you all are just getting to know me. But if there is one thing I love, it’s coffee. I mean, I love Diet Coke more, but I really can’t cook with that. So my second love coffee gets to take center stage in the kitchen! So when I got home, I had both baking and (caffeine) buzzing on my mind.

And the baked good of the day is … Chewy Espresso Cookies of Delicious Amazing. That’s not their real name. But I’m in love.  I wish I could take credit for this one, but I found it in Mama Jan’s Kitchen. These were the perfect end of the day I-need-chocolate fix. Chewy, easy (minus that whole pesky melting chocolate thing) and had just enough coffee to give you a baby caffeine buzz. I may have added extra. So not sure if the actual recipe would do that to ya. And I apologize for the pictures – these are so good I didn’t have the patience to try to make them “pretty.” You don’t need pretty when you’re yummy.

These came out so good I’ve decided to enter them in the A Lot On Your Plate Bake-Off! This is my first contest of any sort – and I’m kinda stoked. 🙂

But anywho, this was a great treat after today. It was a pretty eventful workday (I got to leave the office!) and the monsoon outside made it a perfect baking day. So go give this a shot. You can thank us later.

Chocolate Espresso Cookies

Source: Martha Stewart
prep time: 20 minutes
cook time: 12-15 minutes
total time: 32-35 minutes
makes: 18-22 cookies
INGREDIENTS
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa (I used extra)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar (I used 1 cup since I didn’t have bittersweet chocolate to balance it a little better)
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon instant espresso powder (I might have used 2…)
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, 4 ounces melted and 4 ounces coarsely chopped (I’a poor young professional, so I used regular ol’ semi-sweet chocolate chips!)

DIRECTIONS
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt; set aside.
3. Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition; mix in vanilla.
4. Combine espresso powder and melted chocolate; beat into butter mixture. With mixer on low, gradually add flour mixture; mix just until combined. Fold in chopped chocolate.
5. Drop dough by two (I did one at a time – I like small cookies) heaping tablespoons, 3 inches apart, onto parchment lined baking sheets. Bake until edges are dry, 12 to 15 minutes.
6. Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool completely. To store, keep in an airtight container at room temperature, up to 3 days.

4 thoughts on “Espresso in my cookie? Chocolate in my espresso?

  1. Pingback: … and the 1st Ever “A Lot On Your Plate’s Use What You’ve Got” Bake-off Winner is … (Guest Post) | A Lot On Your Plate

Leave a Reply

