Dinner for One: Spicy Salmon and Spinach Salad

As we have previously discussed, I often find myself cooking for just myself. And lets face it, most recipes you find don’t lend themselves well to singular servings. Which leads to overeating, poor nutritional decisions, and some of the strangest meal combos you could ever imagine (watermelon, a scoop of almond butter and pickles, anyone?).

Over the years, I’ve begun to collect quite the repertoire of dinners for me. Now they’re not fancy, but they’re good! And typically pretty healthy. And often include some interesting cooking techniques (why the heck would I dirty more than one pan for myself?). Oh, and they get the job done. You WON’T be hungry afterward. Lean Cuisine’s are for lunch, people! Not dinner! If you’re as active as you should be, they just won’t cut it!

First up is my spicy salmon and spinach salad! I’m a HUGE fan of buying individually frozen proteins at Sam’s club. I save a ridiculous amount of money this way. And I can get 3 lbs of individually packaged, frozen salmon filets for $20? Done.

I should go ahead and say, if I give you a picture that involves a salad, chances are I’m not going to give you the recipe. Why? Well, it’s a salad. And I have yet to branch into making my own dressing. What you see in the picture, is what it is.

Spicy Salmon

  • 1 salmon filet
  • 2 Tbs panko or other bread crumbs
  • 1 Tbs Olive Oil
  • 1/2 tsp your favorite seasoning blend! I always pick something spicy, but it works well with just about anything

Heat a large skillet over medium and add the oil. While the oil is heating, rinse and DRY your defrosted salmon filet. That drying part is vital! If your salmon has skin, remove it. Then  pat on your seasoning, followed by your bread crumbs. Be sure to completely coat the filet.

Once the oil is shimmering, place the salmon in the pan for 3-4 minutes. Then flip for another 3-4 minutes. If it’s an especially thick piece, I often stand it on its side for a couple minutes (I love the crispy bits!).

Let rest for 5 minutes, then serve.

4 thoughts on “Dinner for One: Spicy Salmon and Spinach Salad

Leave a Reply

