The Caffeine Addict’s Molten Mocha Brownie

Today was one of the longest days in history. I had things to do, I was productive at work, but good gracious I never thought it would end! Usually once I get to the gym I perk up and get it together. But today it just wasn’t happening. I was a goner. I really just wanted to lay in bed eating pizza and doing absolutely nothing productive. And when I have one of these days, there’s only one way to fix it. chocolate.

Now before I go into any detail about the dessert I just created, I feel compelled to tell you that before making this I did an hour spin class and 100 pushups and a good 25 minutes of core at the gym. I also ate a salad for dinner. Because the minute I saw this recipe, I knew I would eat too much of it.

As I said the other day, I’m out of my funk, and decided today was the day to resume baking. So I went searching for a recipe that’s pretty universally pleasing, something I could take to work and share, and most likely easy. I checked A Lot on My Plate’s post for July’s bake-off, and brownie’s seemed perfect! Everyone loves them,  not too messy, extra chocolatey. The perfect option.

But this is no ordinary brownie recipe I have discovered. This combines several of my favorite things: chocolate, coffee, and the texture of molten lava cake. I must be honest – I’m not sure I’ll be taking these to work tomorrow. I’m not sure there will be any left tomorrow. And upon my first bite, I immediately renamed this delicious baked delicacy: The Caffeine Addict’s Molten Mocha Brownie. The texture of these is like a brownie and a molten lava cake had a baby. It’s the best of both worlds and much less stressful than trying to make the cake – goodness knows I’ve overcooked enough of them!

Now I will let you know, I didn’t exactly follow the recipe here. I took some liberties (less sugar, more chocolate, WAY more coffee), so it’s a little intense. Use your intuition here. You know what you like, go with it! I promise it will turn out.

So here ya go, enjoy with care. And make sure you’re full before you taste it. Otherwise, no one else will get to try it.

Thanks to Delishhh for the recipe inspiration!

The Caffeine Addict’s Molten Mocha Brownie

Yields: 8 servings | Prep Time 20 Minutes | Cook Time 40 Minutes

¾ cups granulated sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
? tsp salt
1 piece unsweetened chocolate (1 Square)
2 tbsp butter
½ cups whole milk (I used 2%)
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ cups brown sugar
½ cups granulated sugar (I left this out)
4 tbsp unsweetened cocoa (I didn’t even bother measuring…)
1 cup cold espresso or cold strong coffee

Turn oven to 350 degrees.

Mix together 3/4 cup sugar, flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

Melt square of unsweetened chocolate and butter in the microwave. Add to dry ingredients alternately with the milk and vanilla. Blend. Pour into a greased 8×8 pan.

Combine brown sugar, the 1/2 cup additional granulated sugar and cocoa powder. Sprinkle over the cake batter. Pour the one cup COLD coffee on top. Do not stir. Bake 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

Serve warm with ice cream or whipping cream.

 

11 thoughts on “The Caffeine Addict’s Molten Mocha Brownie

  1. Pingback: … and the winner of the “A Lot On Your Plate Use What You’ve Got” Brownie Bake-off is … (Guest Post) | A Lot On Your Plate

  2. Pingback: Mocha Lava Fudgy Brownie « foodiliciousnan

  3. Pingback: … and the winner of the “A Lot On Your Plate Use What You’ve Got” Brownie Bake-off is … (Guest Post) - A Lot On Your Plate

Leave a Reply

