No-Bake Cookies = No. More. Slump.

Welp, it’s official. I’m in a slump. A kitchen slump, but slump none-the-less. I have all these great ideas for recipes in my head, but they just won’t come out! I gather ingredients, make a plan, get home, and BAM I’m sitting on the couch eating cereal for dinner for the 6th night in a row. I think this may have something to do with the fact that both the roomies are gone right now so I have no one regularly around to cook for.

So last night I forced myself to make something. I might have still eaten the customary cereal dinner, but something else came out of my kitchen for the first time in basically two weeks.  Now did I screw up the recipe just a smidge? Yes. Are they still delicious? Yes again. These cookies are a childhood favorite of mine – and according to my student workers, they taste like a Reeces in cookie form.

They’re not pretty, but they’re delicious. So give them a shot. You can find a variety of recipes for these all over the internet with all different proportions. Just go with your gut on that part (which really seems to be a theme in my cooking style…)

I’m really hoping this ended my slump. It is high time to get back into the swing of things!

 

No-Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter & Oatmeal Cookies

Yield: 2 to 3 dozen cookies

Prep Time: 10 minutes | Cooling Time: 30 minutes

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
½ cup milk
6 tablespoons cocoa powder
2/3 cup peanut butter
4 cups quick-cooking oats

1. Add the first four ingredients (through the cocoa powder) to a 4-quart saucepan.

2. Bring to a rolling boil and let boil for 1 minute.

3. Remove from heat.

4. Stir in the peanut butter  until smooth, then stir in the oats.

5. Drop by heaping tablespoons onto wax paper (or parchment. or a silpat. Whatever you have really.)

6. Let cool until set.

Leave a Reply

