Dinner For One – Crispy Pork Chop and Roasted Asparagus

The theme of the day is crispy!

And I have a confession: I can eat an entire package of asparagus in one sitting. And honestly, if it were an option? I’d eat it daily. It’s by far my favorite vegetable. And anyone who’s ever seen me cook for myself knows how I eat my vegetables: darn near burned.

I know, that sounds crazy, but brown = flavor 99% of the time. So brown vegetables? So. Much. Flavor. This meal is a go-to favorite of mine when I just want delicious crispy things without having to go buy something deep fried. And there’s lots of brown involved. 🙂

 

Crispy Roasted Asparagus

Take a package of asparagus. Trim the ends and lay in a flat layer on a cookie sheet. drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt. Wiggle everything around until coated. Place in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes, or until you’ve reached your desired level of brown/crispy.

 

Crispy Pork Chop

Allow your porkchop to warm up on the counter for 15 minutes. I use boneless, and maybe an inch thick. DRY the chop then apply your seasonings of choice – I like sage, salt and pepper. But I’ve tried many variations. Then thoroughly coat the porkchop with corn starch.

Heat a non-stick skillet to medium on the stove. Add 1 Tbs of olive oil. After oil is heated, place pork chop in the center of the pan. DO NOT MOVE IT until it appears cooked half way through. Then flip ONCE and allow to brown and crisp up on the other side. I then try to balance it on the side for a minute or so to render more fat off the edge and crisp it up as well. If all goes well, your pork chop will be medium-well, crispy and juicy without being dry. Make sure your pan isn’t too hot or that won’t happen.

Leave a Reply

